January 23, 2008

Moving tools

Posted in organize, unclutter at 12:28 pm by @LULAROEFAIL

Having just done this myself, I sure could have used these tips about two weeks ago!

Five Essential Tools for MovingFrom LifeHacker

uhaul.gif
Having just spent the long weekend moving into a new place, I learned
the hard way that there are little things you can do and tools you
should have plenty of on hand to make things go smoothly. Boxing up
every single one of your possessions and transporting them to your new
residence to set them all up again is a huge pain in the ass. Here are
a few items beyond your standard boxes, tape, and blankets that can
streamline your move:

  1. pluglabel.jpgLabels. Whether you use a fancy pants labeler or marker on masking tape, label every single box, bag, and doodad in sight, especially
    cables for your computer and entertainment center. This may sound
    obvious, but right now my TV’s not hooked up because that rat’s nest of
    unidentified cables for the receiver, TV, media center, and gaming
    consoles is a mess. (I fared better with my computer desk, having labeled all my cables beforehand.)
    Also, at some point during the packing process I got lazy and stopped
    labeling boxes. DO NOT DO THIS. Now finding stuff in the new place is
    like a treasure hunt. (Except it’s not fun.)
  2. Ziploc bags. Have tons of clear Ziplocs on hand, in
    all sizes. They’re perfect for wrangling little related bits and
    pieces, labeling and stowing away in boxes to easily find later.
  3. Zip ties. This one might go without saying, but this
    weekend I thanked my lucky stars that I save every zip tie that ever
    came into the house. Twist-tying together cables easily is an absolute
    must for picking apart items on the other side of your move.
  4. sliders_sm.pngSliders. We featured these Moving Sliders
    here on Lifehacker back in ’06, so I picked up a set this week and I’m
    glad I did. These little plastic disks are amazing for moving heavy
    furniture like bookshelves, desks, and filing cabinets without killing
    yourself.
  5. moverwrap_sm.jpegProtective plastic wrap
    These huge rolls of what looks like Saran Wrap (but for furniture) are
    used by pro movers to pad, protect, and contain big and small pieces. I
    wrapped tons of items in this stuff, and it comes off easy with no
    residue left behind. I recommend getting a very wide roll.

Any of you move recently and have hard-earned wisdom to share? Let
us know in the comments, while I try to figure out where the heck I put
my phone charger.

Leave a Reply

